top of page

McGowan Hall is home to the first Knights of Columbus council in the state of Indiana, the Mater Dei Knights of Columbus, Council #437. The Knights of Columbus was founded in 1882 by Fr. Michael J. McGivney at St. Mary's parish in New Haven, Connecticut to strengthen the faith of its members while providing for the material needs of members' families in the event of sickness or death. The four main pillars of the Knights are charity, unity, fraternity, and patriotism. Today there are over 1.8 million members and 16,000 K of C councils worldwide. 

Mater Dei Council 437 holds their regular business meetings every 1st and 3rd Mondays of the month at 7pm. To learn more about the Mater Dei Knights, visit

bottom of page